Flexi Access Demo?

More
13 years 3 months ago #13335 by davidosullivan
Hi there,

I may be interested in your Flexi Access component BUT I need to know whether it will do what we need it to.

I appreciate that you will say 'Tell us what you need and we will tell you if it will do it' but as I am sure you appreciate as a developer these requirements are very rarely set in stone and what is required is something that is reliable and flexible enough for our needs (for example we need it to work with the AEC subscription component in specific ways but what these specific ways are will depend to some extent on what is available).

Then I suppose you would argue that people buy 'Photoshop' without a demo (actually Adobe provide demos of all their products, but anyway)- well the trouble is in the Joomla world there are simply hundreds of components that promise the earth and deliver zero- and as a low paid developer I simply cannot afford to gamble £20 here and there for things that most of the time will either not work or even if they do work, are not actually suitable.

Don't get me wrong, I am happy to pay for things when I know they a) work and are b) what I need, and am happy in fact to pay far more than you are asking, but the bottom line is that I do not think it is moraly right in the Joomla landscape to expect people to gamble their money on every product that says it will do what you need, since lets face it, to write an article that says your product will do everything is an hours work, whereas to actually make something that does so takes ALOT more.