Blog Category with 3 or 4 Columns...?

More
14 years 3 months ago #2931 by ThatComputerDude
So I edited the Category.xml file to include the 2 extra choices in the drop down when editing a category layout (see attachment).

Now - I'm guessing I need to edit the category_items.php file and I see the code but not sure exactly what to edit because I'm not a php developer - I know what it does to read but that's about it... I started to edit it but don't want to screw it up, so any advice would be great!

from line 280 to 293 in the category_items.php file
Code:
<ul class="introblock <?php echo ($this->params->get('intro_cols', 4) == 1) ? 'one' : 'two' : 'three' : 'four'; ?>"> <?php for ($i=($this->limitstart == 0 ? $leadnum : 0 ); $i<$count; $i++) : ?> <li class="<?php echo (($this->limitstart == 0) ? ($i+$leadnum)%2 : $i%2) ? 'even' : 'odd'; ?>"> <div style="overflow: hidden;"> <?php if ($this->params->get('show_title', 1)) : ?> <h2 class="contentheading"> <?php if ($this->params->get('link_titles', 0)) : ?> [url=<?php echo JRoute::_(FlexicontentHelperRoute::getItemRoute($items[$i]->slug, $this->category->slug)); ?>]<?php echo $this->escape($items[$i]->title); ?>[/url] <?php else : echo $this->escape($items[$i]->title); endif; ?> </h2>
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 years 2 months ago #3067 by ThatComputerDude
Has anyone done this yet?

More
14 years 2 months ago #3378 by djw2
I need to have this option as well.

I was pretty far into converting my content over to FLEXIcontent when I ran across the fact that there are only the two options... I was stunned. FLEXI is such an improvement on the core content manager, I couldn't believe this was overlooked.

I made the same changes the person above made, that obviously doesn't work, so... any advice on adding a couple more columns to the blog view would be great.

Thanks.

Dan

More
14 years 2 months ago #3574 by ThatComputerDude