About posting content in selected categories only

More
5 years 2 months ago - 5 years 2 months ago #75791 by winchester
Hi.

I'm very new to FLEXIcontent. I am setting up for frontend article management for a selected group of people to use.

I need this group of persons to only be able to add, edit, delete and publish in 3 specific categories that was set up specially for them. I would like them also to be able to see all the articles (not just the ones they added) in these categories.

Is this possible with FC? And If so, how would I go about getting this done?

Please, any help will be well appreciated. Thank you in advanced.

best regards,

Winchester
Last edit: 5 years 2 months ago by ggppdk.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 2 months ago - 5 years 2 months ago #75793 by ggppdk
Replied by ggppdk on topic Selected Categories
Hello

what you ask is possible
- for Flexicontent, for Joomla article management,
- and in general for any Joomla extension that uses ACL and Access levels, and has frontend submit / edit

You need to read about Joomla ACL (submit + edit)
and about Joomla Access levels (= viewing)

The way to configure this is
1. Create new user group under registered Usergroups with name e.g. "MyAuthors1"
2. In Joomla global Configuration these will have "soft deny" (= NOT SET) for all ACL privileges, so no need to change anything here
3. Click to edit the parent category of the categories at flexicontent category manager
and go to "Permissions TAB"
4. Find and select the usergoup "My Authors", then allow for them the privileges
- create
- edit own

The above is the basic,
you can also give them privilege to publish their owned items (edit state own) (this feature of Flexicontent),
otherwise every change that they make will need to be saved and will wait for approval (this feature of Flexicontent)

About viewing the items will be by default public (viewed by this usergroup and by any guest visitor)