Select Field using SQL: how to set default to 1st record

More
9 years 6 months ago #50278 by Kintamani
I'm new to Flexicontent. I'm trying to use a Select field using an SQL query. It returns the list of records that I'm expecting and I'm happy with that. To complete my need, I would like:

1. to setup the default value of the select field equal to the first record returned by the SQL, in such a way that if the user doesn't select any value my select field will be set to the first record value returned by the SQL query.

2. to set the default value of the select field to an empty string/value, in the case the SQL query returns no records. Consider that my SQL query is using a replacement of item data as a WHERE condition and I'm already expecting that it may return no records to show as a list of possible choices.

I tried to search in the forum but I was not able to find any hints of solution.

Last but not least, I'm testing on Flexicontent version 2.2.0 r2009 running in Joomla! 3.3.6

Thank you in advance for any help.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 years 6 months ago #50279 by ggppdk
Hello

you can extend FLEXIcontent to achieve custom behavior:

so if you want to set a default value if user does not set a value in item form then you may use our plugin method:
Code:
function onBeforeSaveField(...) { ... }

--here is how to duplicate 'select' field to create a new field type:
How to Duplicate a Flexicontent Field to create a new Field Type

the above is for web-site builders that can also do programming, other users can only use what is available via configuration

Rebards

-- Flexicontent is Free but involves a big effort on our part.
Like the our support? (for a bug-free FC, despite having a long list of functions) Like the features? Like the ongoing development and future commitment to FLEXIcontent?
-- Add your voice to the FLEXIcontent JED listing with a 5-star...

More
9 years 6 months ago #50297 by Kintamani